World Dueling Academy
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hang-OutHomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

J. J. Knight's Guide to Writing

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
J.J. Knight
Envoy Soldier
Envoy Soldier
J.J. Knight

Achievement Points : 32
Waifu : no laifu

J. J. Knight's Guide to Writing Empty
PostSubject: J. J. Knight's Guide to Writing   J. J. Knight's Guide to Writing EmptySun Feb 05, 2012 10:15 am

I've been meaning to write one of these for a while. I might as well begin now. As a professional writer, I'm going to show you the tricks of the trade I learned from English Majors, my professors, and other writers. Please note that this can be used for RPs and Fan Fiction too, so don't think this can be used only for writing books.

To begin writing a story, you first must know the story. What is it you are going to write about? The solid foundation for all fictional writing is knowing what you are writing about. What story are you telling? Once you figured out what you are going to write about, you need to research the topic. Yes, that's right. You need to research. For RPing on this site, likely research you would have to do is cards. What cards do what, yada yada yada. For my book, The Seattle Massacre, I had to research a lot about serial killers, human biology, maps and locations in Seattle, criminology, and a lot more subjects to make my story not only believable, but entertaining.

After you've researched your topics, you can now begin process of developing your story. There's several things that need to be developed; plot, symbolism, characters, conflict, and several other aspects.

Plot: